Home > Mormonism, Teaching, Worship > To Go or Not To Go…That is the Question

To Go or Not To Go…That is the Question

I recently taught a three week class on Mormonism. From that class, I have received a number of questions on different topics (like having a Mormon in the White House). So far, the question I have heard the most is, should we let our kids go to church with their LDS friends?

The question is a hard one to answer. There are plenty of people on both sides of the argument and I think both have good reason to think the way they do. Here is my opinion that I admit is stated strongly.

My daughter is 9 and we personally would not let her go. Now that she is becoming more knowledgeable about both Christianity and Mormonism, I don’t really worry about her doctrinally. In fact, I think she would be correcting the teachers if she did go. We don’t let her go because of the spiritual aspects.

I don’t say any of what follows to scare you or to mis-characterize Mormons so please understand that. From my perspective, they worship a false god (See Exodus 32) so that means to me that they worship a demonic god. I don’t want my daughter to be exposed to those kinds of spirits if I can avoid it. I know that statement is going to rub all Mormons and even some Christians the wrong way but if you look at it logically, if you are not worshiping the One True God, then there is only one other option.

Will your kids be singing and praying in the LDS services?

Could they be agreeing with songs of worship and prayers offered to a false god without realizing it? Watch this sermon to understand my perspective on this.

Does that open them up to the influence of demonic spirits?

Does it give the Mormon family a greater sense of legitimacy as being another Christian church?

I have my own answers/opinions to those questions but they are something you need to prayerfully consider. Letting your kids go with their LDS friends is not always wrong.

Here is what my advice would be if you do let your kids go to the Mormon church.

1. Consider going with them.

2. Pray over them before they go and when they come back.

3. Give them an assignment. If they are old enough to go to church with friends, they are most likely old enough to understand at least the basic concepts of Christianity. So have them go with their eyes and ears open for teachings that appear to be either slightly off or completely unique to Mormonism. Then after church, discuss 2-3 of those things and study the Bible together about those topics to understand what God says about that point of doctrine. That way, they are not confused. They will also gain some great experience in the Word and learn how to defend their faith.

4. Propose a church swap with both the parents and kids if possible. Most LDS kids are willing to make a commitment to go to church with you if you go with them but the parents are less likely to go. If they do agree to this, try a Saturday night service so it does not interfere with their normal Sunday meetings because most likely they are serving in some way and cannot miss church.

Make sure to let them know what to expect with the service. Briefly explain things like worship style (traditional or contemporary music, how Pentecostal are you), what Bible does your Pastor usually read from, dress code and things like that are important bits of information so they are not caught off guard. For many, it will be their first step into a Christian church and depending on the style; it could be a huge difference.

Then when you go to their meetings, make sure you are respectful to their dress code as well and wear what is appropriate and be prepared for 3 hours of church. You will most likely be taken to a Sunday School class that teaches the basic doctrines of Mormonism called Gospel Principles. Just like your kids, keep your eyes and ears open for doctrines that may sound Christian but have a little twist. If others in the class have a manual, ask for one so you can read what they are teaching from.

I think one of the best weeks to go to the LDS church is the 1st Sunday of the month which they call Fast and Testimony meeting. In this meeting, the pulpit is open to anyone who wants to get up and share their testimony. To them a testimony is basically a statement of beliefs like “I know Joseph Smith was a prophet.” If this is the week you go, pay close attention to what the people are saying and the order in which it is said. You will notice a pattern in their speech that will tell you a lot about their priorities.

I know some of my points may seem a bit extreme or even harsh. It is not popular to insinuate that a group of very nice, hard working people with great family values are worshiping a false or demonic god (knowingly or unknowingly).

Please remember, it is not the person but rather the doctrines that we as Christians have issues with. Mormons are a fantastic group of people…but they are deceived and blinded from the truth taught in the Bible. Pray for those asking you or your kids to go to church with them. That is the most important thing you can do.

Categories: Mormonism, Teaching, Worship
  1. thewanderingchristian
    June 29, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    I believe that my child would only go if he viewed it as a mission field rather than a function/event/church with a friend. I would want him to be prepared and suited up in God’s armor before I’d let him go. I know that the age at which a child is prepared will vary, and that may mean that my son doesn’t get to venture out for a few years after an invite, but my job as his father is to guide and protect him until he can vouch for himself.

    I also feel that it is the calling of every Christian to be Christ to everyone. Someone told me recently, “Preach the Gospel everywhere you go, and if necessary use words.” My prayer for my son is that he be like Christ to everyone he meets as he grows up; that his friends at school know his love for his Father.

    If a person spiritually equipped, not saved, and not protected, they will be more vulnerable to temptations in the realm of religions. It holds true more so for children. Older children and teenagers are bombarded with messages that water down or denounce Christianity. If a spiritual door is open in any way, going to an LDS church could be disastrous. It may not manifest immediately but instead like a seed or root it may grow over time unnoticed until it sprouts.

    Send your child if they are ready, bot only if they are ready. Cover them in prayer regardless of whether or not you go with them. Surround your family with prayer from spritual elders and leaders before during and after; for protection, for witnessing opportunity, and for growth as a family in Christ.

  2. June 29, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    That would be a case by case for me. I have only been saved for four years and thus, have had only four years of discipleship pour into Yusef. In a few years, I would be confident enough for him to go to any other service by himself and only if he felt called to go in and had a missional heart for it.

    Until then, like with any of my other kids, I couldn’t let Yusef go into a non-Christ centered worship service without me being there.

  3. June 29, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    To follow-up: that being the case, how would we train up our kids so that they would be properly equip to take the gospel into the four corners of the earth that might just include the Stake Center down the street?

    • June 29, 2011 at 4:16 pm

      Nice. I wonder if our good friend will post something on equipping our children for an LDS mission field?

  4. June 29, 2011 at 5:34 pm

    I would agree with both of you. I will have to put some though into the practical side of equipping kids for kid-on-kid ministry. It is an interesting idea but in some ways I hesitate to go there specifically with Mormons. There could be some serious back-lash from the parents if they thought their child was being presented with material that contradicts LDS belief. I don’t know if that is reason enough to not do/encourage that kind of evangelism so let me see what I can come up with in the next week or two.
    Thanks for reading and being part of the discussion.

  5. Aimee Ellis
    July 3, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    When I was a teenager, I had a Mormon friend and I believe I went to church with her at least once. However, I was solid in my faith, but if I hadn’t been, I’m not sure that I would have been able to withstand being swayed. I agree with your perspective that it is a false god, as the Bible says, and it would be exposing young people to that. I would not let my son go either.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

