Home > Jesus, Salvation, The Word > Water and Blood + Water and Spirit

Water and Blood + Water and Spirit

I’m not sure I have much of a point to this blog today which is a strange thing for me.  Usually I write with a specific purpose in mind but I find myself wanting to just point out something interesting (to me at least) that I found a while ago but have not done anything with.

There is the famous story in John 3 about a conversation Jesus has with Nicodemus in the middle of the night in which He tells Nicodemus that he must be “born again”.  Confused by this idea, Nicodemus asked for some clarification.  In response, Jesus answered, “I tell you the truth, no one can enter the kingdom of God unless he is born of water and the Spirit. 6Flesh gives birth to flesh, but the Spirit gives birth to spirit.”

What does that mean?  It means that we must be born of flesh or natural birth (There are plenty who look at this as baptism but that is not consistent with verse 6).  This is something that everyone who can read this page has been through so you have at least half of the equation down.  However he does not stop there…he says we must also be born of the Spirit.  There are numerous passages that speak of this idea and the principle of becoming a “new creation in Christ”.  Spiritual birth comes when we accept Christ as our Lord and Savior and we give our life over to Him.  That is why Christians refer to themselves as “Born Again”.

What I think is interesting, and my purpose of writing, is something I came across in 1 John 5:6 – “This is the one who came by water and blood—Jesus Christ. He did not come by water only, but by water and blood. And it is the Spirit who testifies, because the Spirit is the truth.”

I’m not sure how to articulate what I have in my head but this passage seems so cool to me.  Here we have Jesus, who told us that we must be born of water and of the Spirit, and John tells us that Christ himself was also born again but by blood.  This passage is so very important.  Had Jesus not come by water AND blood then we would not have been able to be born of the Spirit.  One is so deeply dependent on the other.  There would be no Pentecost without their first being a Passover.

I love how the Bible takes what seem to be distant passages and weaves them together.  Old Testament confirms New Testament and New Testament confirms Old Testament.  I guess that is the point here.  There are a lot of “hidden” gems planted in the Word of God for us to find and it has become one of my favorite things to do.  I love coming across something new and then sharing it with anyone who will listen.

Do you have anything you have been shown that you want to share with me?

Categories: Jesus, Salvation, The Word
  1. Josiah
    August 13, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    I’ve got lots I could ramble on about what the Lord has shared with me as I’ve dined on His written Word. But John 3 is one of my faves, and one of my fave verses in it is verse 8: “The wind blows where it wishes and you hear the sound of it, but do not know where it comes from and where it is going; so is everyone who is born of the Spirit”. For me that verse lets God be God and lets me sit in awe and wonder. It’s like Jesus was saying to ol Nick, “Don’t worry about when and where the wind blows, just respond.” I grew up loving theology, I still do of course, but I feel this verse helps me stay balanced. Some things are meant for God alone to understand, for me to try and grasp them is like trying to catch wind in my hands…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

