Home > Freedom, Grace, Jesus, Salvation, The Cross > Jesus gave us 120%

Jesus gave us 120%

Redeemer.  That is one of the many names for Jesus.  I have called Him that for as long as I can remember and always had a picture in my head of the toy counter at Chuck-E-Cheese.  We are the toys (I am the parachute man) and Jesus brings a stack of tickets to “redeem” them and chooses us to go home with him.  While I think that analogy works in many ways, God has shown me something that has made that word take on a whole new meaning.

The book of Leviticus has a certain stigma attached to it.  It is dry and full of “the law” which can make it hard to read.  I had never studied it so I decided to at least read through so I could say I had.  Some parts were easier to get through and understand than others but it is the last chapter that has really captured my attention and stirred my soul.

Chapter 27 talks about what it takes to redeem something and it goes through a series of example of different things that can be redeemed, the rules behind each one and what it takes to make the transaction final.

13 If the owner wishes to redeem the animal, he must add a fifth to its value.

15 If the man who dedicates his house redeems it, he must add a fifth to its value, and the house will again become his.

27 If it is one of the unclean animals, he may buy it back at its set value, adding a fifth of the value to it.

34 These are the commands the LORD gave Moses on Mount Sinai for the Israelites.

In order for something to be redeemed under the law, the person redeeming it must pay its full value plus “a fifth” which is 20%.  That is 120%

So what was our full value and what did Jesus actually pay to redeem us.

If our healing was worth 5 lashes…He took 6

Isaiah 53:5But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.

If our sorrows and grief are worth 10 hairs from His beard…they ripped out 12

Isaiah 53:4Surely he hath borne our griefs, and carried our sorrows

If my bondage to the law or to demonic forces has a full value of 60 seconds hanging on the cross…Jesus hung for 72 seconds.

Galatians 3:13 – Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us, for it is written: “Cursed is everyone who is hung on a tree.”

Sin…if my countless sins were worth 100 drops of His precious blood…my Redeemer did not stop there.  He shed 120 to make sure I belong to him.

1 Peter 1:17-19For you know that it was not with perishable things such as silver or gold that you were redeemed from the empty way of life handed down to you from your forefathers, 19but with the precious blood of Christ, a lamb without blemish or defect.

Let that sink in…think about what that means to you.  What I think I am worth is not the same opinion God holds.  Not only does he see my “full value” but he is willing to pay a fifth more for me.

Next time, when you feel like you are worthless.  When you feel like your sin could not possibly be covered.  Remember that Christ’s sacrifice was sufficient to pay the price.  Not only does it cover you…it goes 20% farther.

Lamentations 3:57-58You came near when I called you, and you said, “Do not fear.”  O Lord, you took up my case; you redeemed my life.

  1. Josiah Campbell
    July 24, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    Great post Doug! I enjoyed getting coffee with ya today and discussing this topic more in depth. Crazy to think that if we were to redeem our own lives the most ever mathematically possible we could offer is 100%. Only an infinite God with an infinite Son could pay 120% for us. We can’t out bid God! Insert all of Isaiah 43 here… 🙂 Have a great rest of the weekend!

    • July 26, 2010 at 4:21 pm

      The conversation today was awesome. Thanks for taking the time.
      Now I have to go read Isaiah 43…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

