My New Name

You will be called by a new name that the mouth of the LORD will bestow. (Isa 62:2)

If you have read the “About Doug” page then you know that I spent most of my life as a Mormon.  A key part to Mormon life and theology is wrapped up in modern-day temple worship.  I’m not going to go into the validity of temple worship and how LDS temples compare to Biblical accounts…at least not today.

I do want to talk about the idea of a “new name”.  One of the things done in the LDS temples is the giving of a new name to each person that is worthy to receive it.  It is to be kept secret and is used later in the different rituals done inside.  It is normally considered a grave violation to tell someone your name.  Since my temple privileges and blessings have been revoked, I do not feel beholden to that standard any longer and the name means nothing now.  So, at the risk of offending some (sorry if that is you) my “new name” given to me by the LDS church was Simeon.

As far as Bible names go…it’s not so bad.  It could have been much worse (ask Amy).  After all, he is one of twelve tribes of Israel and played a vital part in the life of Joseph.  Lately though I have been bothered by the fact that this name was spoken over me by a man who claimed to be a High Priest in God’s house.  I believe both claims are far from the truth and not Biblically supported. (Again, another topic for another day)

Here is why I am writing this post…God is good and faithful!

Because this was weighing on my heart, I decided to take it to God and ask what my name would be if He gave me one.  The response did not come as quickly as I had hoped.  In fact, it took 3 hours of drawing close to him, quieting my spirit and getting used to His voice before I heard it…Uriah.

Uriah?  Seriously?

I have to admit that I did not immediately recognize the name so I had to look it up and at first I was disappointed.  In case you don’t know, Uriah was the husband of Bathsheba and was murdered by King David.  That did not make my heart leap with joy…in fact, I was pretty confused.  That is, until I read his story.  As I began to work my way through the lone chapter about him, I paid close attention to the few details it gave of my namesake and God began to speak and show me why he chose Uriah.

If you want to read about him go to 2 Samuel 11

Uriah’s wife was HOT! (I don’t think that is in the King James translation).  The Message says Bathsheba was “stunningly beautiful” and I would say the same thing about my wife and I know God would too.

Apart from this, he was honorable, loyal, devoted and concerned for others.  He was willing to do battle and even go to his death for God.  Despite David’s best efforts, Uriah could not be tricked or pressured into doing something he knew would be wrong.  He was a man of principles.

He was not weak.  In fact, he was part of a select group that was assigned to be King David’s body guards.  He was trusted with a high position of responsibility.  When it came time to go to war, he was fearless and went where the opposition was greatest and never backed down.  He was always in control of his appetites and ultimately died because he would not compromise on his beliefs.

Now, I don’t pretend to embody all of these attributes but I can see some that apply.  God however creates with words.  When he speaks, he does so with purpose.  With His words, God calls out of us who we were created and redeemed to be. (hat-tip to Bob Hamp)

God called Gideon, who was full of fear and self-doubt a “mighty warrior” before he ever was one.  I see God doing the same thing here with me.  I have a long way to go in many areas but I will gladly stand on this word knowing that when my Father looks at me, this is what he sees.

One last note on this:  The name Uriah means “The LORD is my light” which matches up perfectly with a prophetic word that was given to me earlier this year.

Like I said…God is good!

  1. Josiah
    July 21, 2010 at 10:56 am

    That’s awesome, thanks for sharing! Can I call you Uri for short? Or even Ri-dawg? 🙂

  2. Karen
    July 22, 2010 at 8:55 am

    Doug- my first time to get a chance to read your blog- loved this one. The whole story that is drawing out and the way you asked for your name is so poignant in your journey. Thank you for sharing this one- it is another treasure in your trove and encouraging for the rest of us to find out our name in Him!

  3. Kevin Karlson
    January 7, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    Hi Doug ,

    We are gateway Frisco members and share your concerns about glen beck. Exactly. I sent a message to Tom lane with the same concerns the day after becks appearance but got no response.

    Somebody failed to think this through. This is a subtle attack by the enemy to sow disharmony.

    Blessings,

    Kevin

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

